2016 Annual Meeting & Society of Fellows Recognition Reception

January 15, 2017 | Blog, Events

OCBF’s 2016 Annual Meeting and Society of Fellows Recognition Reception was held on Thursday, December 8, at First American Financial Corporation. It was a great turnout and a wonderful evening for friends and supporters. Judge David O. Carter represented OCBF with pride as master of ceremonies.

The event offered an opportunity to reflect on 2016 and recognize the donors, agencies, businesses, and volunteers that make our work possible and successful. Below are some award highlights from the event.

A special thanks and congratulations to the 2016 award recipients that were honored and recognized for their dedication and commitment to OCBF: The Legal Eagle Cup for the winning team at our 20th Annual John C. Herklotz SHORTSTOP Golf Classic was accepted by OCBF Board member Don Morrow on behalf of Paul Hastings. OCBF Board member Maria Stearns of Rutan & Tucker was recognized as Top OC Marathon Fundraiser for OCBF. The recipient of our 2016 Sammy Award was Dennis Ghan of Palmieri, Tyler, Wiener, Wilhelm & Waldron LLP. Additionally, all OCBF SHORTSTOP and STOP SHORT of Addiction instructors were honored with OCBF Outstanding Leadership Awards: Mark Case, Orange County Department of Education; Mel Sarabia, Santa Ana Police Department; Juan Villegas, Orange County Sheriff’s Department; Lesley Trejo, Orange County Sheriff-Coroner Department; Erica Arellano, Orange County Sheriff-Coroner Department; Tony Sanchez, Orange County District Attorney’s Office; Eddie Nunez, Santa Ana Police Department; Javier Orozco, Orange County Probation Department; and Kevin Stinson, of the 4th District Court of Appeal. The OCBF Community School Partner Award went to Jesse Penunuri of the Santa Ana Unified School District and the OCBF Outstanding Mentor Award went to Taylor Dalton. The 8th Annual Society of Fellows Distinguished Award went to John Hurlbut and the 9th Annual Society of Fellows Distinguished Judicial Fellow Award to Judge Steven L. Perk (Ret.).

Click here to read more and view photos from the event.